Insertions: Pre-roll video

The Insertion section allows you to upload and create a list of videos that can be played in front of the primary content.  Common examples are film festival trailers or bumpers, programmer introductions, artist/filmmaker Introductions, and sponsor ads.   An insertion uploaded to this screen can then be used in the Pre-Roll areas of a primary asset (video/playlist/series).   You only need to upload an insertion once, it can be used to play before one or many primary assets.  An insertion can also be set as the default to play in front of all your primary assets.

To start, click the New button at the top-right corner of your browser. 

This will automatically add a new entry below, and will take you to a new page where you can add the title and upload the content. 

After uploading, you can preview the video by clicking the Preview Insertion button, and decide if you want customers to have the ability to skip the insertion or not by checking or unchecking the Skippable box. Make sure to give the Insertion a title, and make sure to hit the Save button before leaving this page.

Any Insertions you create will be added to the list on the main Insertions section. Click the New button if you wish to add more Insertions. Select the vertical ellipsis (⋮) if you wish to set an insertion as the default or delete an insertion.

Once your insertions have been added, you can now incorporate them into your videos, series and playlists. 

Open the Pre-Roll Insertions section within one of your videos, TV series or playlists, and you will usually find Use Default Preroll Insertion checked as a default. This means whatever Insertion you set as a default will always play in front of that video, series or playlist. 

If you don’t want the default to play, uncheck that box, and a form will appear, where you can select the insertion you want to play. You can select as many as you like by adding them in the order you want them to play. 

If you do not want to include Insertions in your Videos, you can turn this feature off in the Site Settings > Add Ons screen. 


Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.